We've all been there.

You send that angry message on WhatsApp and then realise it's heading straight to the wrong person's inbox.

Luckily, it appears WhatsApp is working on a way to stop this embarrassing situation ever happening again.

The world's most popular messaging app may soon let its billions of users revoke, recall or edit messages that have already been delivered to contacts within the chat app.

The feature would allow users to edit – or completely revoke – messages sent by accident, as well any texts with cringe-inducing typos or content.



WhatsApp tricks WhatsApp tricks WhatsApp tricks WhatsApp tricks
WhatsApp is currently trialling the new feature on limited number of iPhone devices and this means it could be landing on your smartphone soon.

According to the testers pressing and holding on a sent message now brings up two new menu options, Edit or Revoke.

Edit will let you tweak the content of what's been said in the message, while Revoke lets you completley kill the text from the conversation.

Before you get too excited, the ability to revoke your message will only work when the recipient hasn't seen the text.

WhatsApp can currently delete messages from your own device, however the deleted messages will remain visible to the recipients.


Twitter user @WABetaInfo published a photo of the new feature working on iPhone.

Unfortunately, there's no word yet on when – or if – the new edit and revoke features will be making their way to Android beta users.

The news comes as WhatsApp is about to stop supporting thousands of smartphones on its service.

From January 2017, owners of some older devices won't be able to use WhatsApp anymore and BlackBerry users face a block later in the year.

Here's the full list of devices that face the WhatsApp block.

BlackBerry OS and BlackBerry 10 • Nokia S40 • Nokia Symbian S60 • Android 2.1 and Android 2.2 • Windows Phone 7 • iPhone 3GS/iOS 6