7 States That Will Not Conduct 2019 Governorship Election

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

As Nigerians return to the polls today to elect their state governors and legislators as well councillors for the six Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Area Councils, it is important to note that not all the 36 states are participating in the governorship elections Only 29 states out of the 36 states in Nigeria will be electing new governors on March 9, as 7 states including the FCT is not conducting governorship elections.

The seven states where the 2019 governorship election will not hold are: Edo, Kogi, Ondo, Ekiti, Anambra, Osun and Bayelsa

The election will hold at 119,973 polling units across the country, while collation of results will take place in 8,809 Registration Areas or Wards, 774 local government areas, 36 states and the FCT.

List Of All Governors Elected In 2019 Election

The electorate will vote for 1,082 candidates for the various positions, two weeks after the February 23 Presidential and National Assembly elections.

The positions include governors in 29 States and 991 members of state Houses of Assembly as well as the six chairmen and 62 councillors for the Area Councils in the FCT.

The governorship election is taking place in 29 states as the elections in remaining seven other states of Edo, Kogi, Ondo, Ekiti, Anambra, Osun and Bayelsa were staggered and already conducted off-season by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

For the governorship election, no fewer than 1,063 candidates are contesting for the available 29 governorship seats.


About Author

Leave A Reply