History Of Nigeria Football

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Since the 1945 introduction of the Nigerian Football Federation, Nigeria has become a top soccer contender on the international stage. Nigeria, under British control for centuries, has played in the World Cup and Olympics, and held its own professional national championships since gaining full independence in 1960.

Early Sports

Although sports have been an integral part of Nigerian society for centuries, they were little more than leisure activities. Prior to 1963, few athletes made an international impact, especially in football. According to Online Nigeria, the National Sports Commission was founded to lay the foundation for all sporting event organization in Nigeria. Though the Nigerian Football Federation already was a governing body, football in Nigeria was still confined to the African boundaries, rarely making appearances outside the continent. Championships were played among rival clubs from Lagos, Port Harcourt and Calabar.

The Challenge Cup

Nigeria began participating in Africa’s Challenge Cup in the 1960s. The Cup was originally named the Governer’s Cup by the British. The Challenge Cup fueled Nigeria’s desire to play in the World Cup, though the team was unsuccessful in qualification matches. But Nigeria qualified for the 1970 World Cup in Mexico. It produced widespread national interest, along with more emphasis on Nigerian soccer. In 1972, the Nigerian National League was born, beginning with five teams and growing to 12 by 1978.

Nigeria National League – History and Information


Since the 1980s, Nigeria’s U-17 team has won three international world championships, including in 2007. Nigeria qualified for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa with a 3-2 victory over Kenya in 2009. Nigeria tied South Korea 2-2 in South Africa, but lost to Greece and Argentina and failed to make it out of the first round. Nigeria, which has produced top players such as Mikel John Obi and Jay-Jay Okocha, will again be a favorite during qualifying for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

List Nigeria Football Team Managers For All Time

England – Jack Finch (1949)
Nigeria – Daniel Anyiam (1954–1956)
England – Les Courtier (1956–1960)
Israel – Moshe “Jerry” Beit haLevi (1960–1961)
Hungary – George Vardar (1961–1963)
England – Joey Blackwell (1963–1964)
Nigeria – Daniel Anyiam (1964–1965)
Hungary – József Ember (1965–1968)
Spain – Sabino Barinaga (1968–1969)

Nigeria’s 50 Greatest Footballers Of All Time

Nigeria – Peter ‘Eto’ Amaechina (1969–1970)
West Ge- rmany – Karl-Heinz Marotzke (1970–1971)
Brazil Jorge Penna (1972–1973)
West Germany – Karl-Heinz Marotzke (1974)
Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia – Tihomir Jelisavčić (1974–1978)
Brazil – Otto Glória (1979–1982)
West Germany – Gottlieb Göller (1981)
Nigeria – Festus Onigbinde (1983–1984)
Nigeria – Chris Udemezue (1984–1986)
Nigeria – Patrick Ekeji (1985)
Nigeria – Paul Hamilton (1987–1989)
West Germany – Manfred Höner (fr) (1988–1989)
Netherlands – Clemens Westerhof (1989–1994) as Technical Adviser
Nigeria – Shaibu Amodu (1994–1995)
Netherlands – Jo Bonfrere (1995–1996)
Nigeria – Shaibu Amodu (1996–1997)
France – Philippe Troussier (1997)

List Of Nigeria Football Stadiums & Their Capacity

Nigeria – Monday Sinclair (1997–1998)
Federal Republic of Yugoslavia – Bora Milutinović (1998)
Netherlands – Thijs Libregts (1999)
Netherlands – Jo Bonfrere (1999–2001)
Nigeria – Shaibu Amodu (2001–2002)
Nigeria – Festus Onigbinde (2002)
Nigeria – Christian Chukwu (2002–2005)
Nigeria – Augustine Eguavoen (2005–2007)
Germany – Berti Vogts (2007–2008)
Nigeria – James Peters (2008)
Nigeria – Shaibu Amodu (2008–2010)
Sweden – Lars Lagerbäck (2010)
Nigeria – Augustine Eguavoen (2010)
Nigeria – Samson Siasia (2010–2011)
Nigeria – Stephen Keshi (2011–2014)
Nigeria – Shaibu Amodu (2014)
Nigeria – Stephen Keshi (2014)

Nigeria National Football Major Kit Suppliers and Sponsors

Nigeria – Daniel Amokachi (2014–2015)
Nigeria – Stephen Keshi (2015)
Nigeria – Sunday Oliseh (2015-2016)
Germany – Gernot Rohr (2016–present)

Nigeria Premier League History, Sessions and Winners

List Of Nigeria Sport Newspaper


About Author

1 Comment

Leave A Reply