List Of Top Privately Owned Football Clubs In Nigeria

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Club ownership in Nigeria has been fingered as one of the major reasons why league football in the country is in its current state. It is believed that the current government ownership of the majority of the clubs has hugely hampered on the development and professionalism in the running of the affairs of the clubs.

Ifeanyi Ubah fc

Ifeanyi Ubah fc

In times past many private individuals were involved in the ownership of club sides in Nigeria, from Abiola Babes owned by the late Chief Moshood Kashimawo Abiola, Stationery Stores amongst others.

However, due to the high cost of running a football club and the death of some club proprietors, the number of privately owned clubs in the country dwindled as the government took over some while others were disbanded outrightly.

Recently, there has been a rise in the private ownership of club sides and today we take a look at the best of them across the local leagues

See The Top Privately Owned Football Clubs In Nigeria

8. Ikorodu United
Founded: 2014
Owner: Adewunmi Ogunsanya
Nickname: Oga boys
Home Stadium: Onikan Stadium
Honours: Nil
Current Status: Nigeria National League.

7. Ifeanyi Ubah
Founded: 2015
Owner: Sen. Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah
Nickname: Anambra Warriors
Home Stadium: Ifeanyi Ubah Stadium, Nnewi Anambra state
Honours: FA Cup: 1
Current Status: NPFL

History Of Nigeria Football

Founded: 2011
Owner: Sen. Bukola Saraki
Nickname: Bukola Babes
Home Stadium:Ilorin stadium, Kwara State
Honours: Nil
Current Status: Nigeria National League

5. Go Round
Founded: 1994
Owner: Felix A, Obuah
Nickname:Go Round
Home Stadium: Krisdera Hotel Stadium, Omoku, Rivers State.
Honours: Rivers State FA Cup: 1
Current Status: NPFL

4. Stationery Stores
Founded: 1958
Owner: Isreal Adebajo (late)
Nickname:Flaming Flamingoes
Home Stadium: Onikan Stadium, Lagos
Honours: FA Cup: 4, NPL: 1
Current Status: Nigeria National League

3. Yarmalight
Founded: 2008
Owner: Malam Farouk Yarma
Nickname: One team, One Dream
Home Stadium: Pantami stadium, Gombe State
Honours: – Nil
Current Status: Nigeria National League

How To Join Pepsi Football Academy Nigeria

Founded: 2007
Owner:Mountain of Fire Ministries
Nickname: Olukoya Boys
Home Stadium: Agege Stadium, Lagos
Honours: Lagos FA Cup Champions, Church World Cup Champions, CAF Champions league
Current Status: NPFL

1. Remo Stars
Founded: 2004
Owner: Kunle Soname
Nickname: Sky Blue Stars
Home Stadium: Gateway International stadium, Sagamu.
Honours: Ogun FA Cup Champions, NNL Champions
Current Status: NPFL

Nigeria’s 50 Greatest Footballers Of All Time

Nigeria Football Stadiums & Their Capacity

Nigeria Premier League History, Sessions and Winners

Nigeria National Football Major Kit Suppliers and Sponsors


About Author

Leave A Reply