No announcement yet.

Great North Run 2018: Mo Farah Wins 5th Consecutive Time

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Great North Run 2018: Mo Farah Wins 5th Consecutive Time

    Mo Farah won a record fifth Great North Run in a course record of 59 minutes and 26 seconds on Sunday in Newcastle.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	5a3796c74aa6b5a01a8b556f-750-563.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	81.8 KB
ID:	252408

    It was also Farah's fifth win in a row in the race, with New Zealand's Jake Robertson 31 seconds back in second.

    London Marathon champion Vivian Cheruiyot from Kenya won the women's race for a second time in three years.

    David Weir set a new course record to win the men's wheelchair race for the seventh time, with Martyna Snopek taking the women's race.

    Farah led from the front to cross the line in 59min 26sec, just four seconds short of the personal best he set in winning his second title in 2015. It was also his fifth consecutive win in the race.

    I’ve been doing a lot more long runs and in terms of endurance I’m definitely fitter,” the British runner told the BBC. “Just coming into that headwind it was so tough, I wasn’t going smooth, I was going up and down. I honestly thought I could beat my personal best today, but those last two miles really hurt.”