Flowers and Shadows (Harlow: Longman, 1980)

The Landscapes Within (Harlow: Longman, 1981)

The Famished Road (London: Jonathan Cape, 1991)

Songs of Enchantment (London: Jonathan Cape, 1993)

Astonishing the Gods (London: Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1995)

Dangerous Love (London: Weidenfeld & Nicolson,1996)

Infinite Riches (London: Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1998)

In Arcadia (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2002)

Starbook (London: Rider Books, 2007)

The Age of Magic (London: Head of Zeus, 2014)

Poetry, essays and short story collections
Incidents at the Shrine (short stories; London: Heinemann, 1986)

Stars of the New Curfew (short stories; London: Secker & Warburg, 1988)

An African Elegy (poetry; London: Jonathan Cape, 1992)

Birds of Heaven (essays; London: Phoenix House, 1996)

A Way of Being Free (essays; London: Weidenfeld & Nicholson: 1997; London: Phoenix House, 1997)

Mental Fight (poetry: London: Weidenfeld & Nicholson, 1999; London: Phoenix House, 1999)

Tales of Freedom (short stories; London: Rider & Co., 2009)

A Time for New Dreams (essays; London: Rider & Co., 2011)

Wild (poetry; London: Rider & Co., 2012)

N The Madness of Reason (feature film, 2014)[25]