Premiers Of The First Republic In Nigeria

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Nigeria became independent on October 1, 1960. The period between this date and January 15, 1966, when the first military coup d’état took place, is generally referred to as the First Republic, although the country only became a republic on October 1, 1963.

Premiers Of The First Republic In Nigeria

Eastern Region Oct 1960 – Jan 1966: Francis Akanu Ibiam Michael Okpara

Mid-Western Region Aug 1963 – Feb 1964: Dennis Osadebay Dennis Osadebay (Administrator) Region created from part of Western Region on 8 August 1963

Feb 1964 – Jan 1966: Jereton Mariere Dennis Osadebay

Northern Region Oct 1960 – 1962: Gawain Westray Bell Ahmadu Bello

1962 – Jan 1966: Kashim Ibrahim

Western Region Oct 1960 – May 1962: Adesoji Aderemi Samuel Akintola

May 1962 – Dec 1962: Adesoji Aderemi Moses Majekodunmi (Administrator) Administrator appointed during political crisis.

Jan 1963 – Jan 1966: Joseph Fadahunsi Samuel Akintola

Governors Of The Second Republic In Nigeria

The Nigeria Coat Of Arm

History Behind The Nigeria National Flag

See All Past and Present INEC Chairman In Nigeria


About Author

Leave A Reply