States Created By Gen. Yakubu Gowon

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

General Yakubu “Jack” Dan-Yumma Gowon is a former head of state of Nigeria from 1966 to 1975. He took power after one military coup d’état and was overthrown in another. During his rule, the Nigerian government successfully prevented Biafran secession during the 1967–70 Nigerian Civil War.

The creation of states began in the year 1967 with General Yakubu Gowon coming to power via a coup d’état. He dissolved the regions there were and created twelve states out of them.

Recommended: Wedding Video Of General Yakubu Gowon In 1969

Below is a list of the first twelve states in Nigeria, created by the then military head of states, Gen. Yakubu Gowon

  1. North-Western State
  2. Kaduna State
  3. Kano State
  4. North-Eastern State
  5. Kwara state
  6. Benue-Plateau State
  7. Western State
  8. East-Central state
  9. Lagos State
  10. Mid-Western (Bendel) State
  11. Cross River State
  12. Rivers State

Biography Of Gen. Yakubu Gowon


About Author

Leave A Reply